As many times as I’ve seen Halestorm over the past three years, they never disappoint, they always put on an amazing show. Lzzy Hale continues to defy the rock greats with vocal abilities that stand out time after time.

Halestorm was doing a solo tour this time around, made a stop at the Deluxe Room at the Old National Center in Indianapolis Indiana, to a sold out show. Halestorm started back in 2009 and I think I’ve been seeing them live since 2011, I know I’ve been to many shows, just never had the opportunity to met them, well last night I finally got to met Lzzy Hale, her brother Arejay Hale which is the drummer, Joe Hottinger the guitarist, and Josh Smith the bassist. Together they make up one kick ass band.



Halestorm took the stage at 9pm sharp and opened up with “Love Bites (So do I)” from their current album “The Strange Case of” that was released last year, their first full length album to date, I’m sure more will follow. They sang several cover songs and even a solo song by Lzzy herself that I have never heard before, I do believe it’s on an extended version of there cd somewhere. They did “Slave to the Grind” by “Skid Row” which is awesome, Lzzy’s voice can sing that slightly better than Sebastian Bach, I do know they have sung it together at some point and time. They also did “All I wanna do is Make Love to you” by “Heart” and that’s off of there “Reanimate: The Covers EP” that was released in 2011, it has both those songs, along with a wicked remake of “Bad Romance” by Lady Gaga, totally better than the original by far.

They are a humble band, Lzzy thanked the fans for putting her on the stage, and all the support and love from social media that they receive, the fans really did jump-start their career. So much so, they won a Grammy for the song “Love Bites (So do I) for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance, although a lot of people thought they shouldn’t have, they did ironically enough, which hasn’t changed them to much that I could tell, still down to earth and very appreciative for what they have and how they got there.


The set list is as follows:

  1. Love Bites (So Do I)
  2. Mz. Hyde
  3. You call me a bitch like its a bad thing
  4. Freak Like Me
  5. Dirty Work
  6. Innocence
  7. Daughters of Darkness
  8. Straight Through the Heart (Ronnie James Dio cover)
  9. Rock Show
  10. Break in
  11. In your room
  12. All I wanna do is make love to you (Heart Cover)
  13. Familiar Taste of Poison
  14. Drum Solo (by Arejay)
  15. Slave to the Grind (Skid Row Cover)
  16. It’s Not you
  17. I Get off
  18. Hate it when you see me cry (Lzzy solo)
  19. Gold Dust Women (Fleetwood Mac cover)
  20. I Miss the Misery
  21. Here’s to Us

Overall an amazing night of music by Halestorm, they did have an opening act a band named Whitener from Kentucky they were alright nothing special, they did however sing “Little Red Corvette” by “Prince” which made my friend cringe, but overall a good thirty minute set by them was all that was needed.

The Deluxe Room at the Old National Center in Indianapolis only holds 800 people, it’s a small basement room that has a stage and main floor area that works really well for smaller concerts, it’s one of many event rooms in the Center, the Egyptian Room being the largest for concerts of general admission. It’s one of my go-to venues for concerts over the summer, great place for live music.

After the show we ventured out by the bus, and was able to met Joe, Lzzy and Arejay, they signed things, took photos.. I’m glad I got to met them, been wanting for quite some time.

20130806_223406 20130806_223630

Thank you Halestorm for yet again, putting on an epic rock show.. can’t wait to do it again in the future.

Concert goer, Network Engineer, Midwest dweller.
View all posts by concertchk
Marjeanas website
Website Pin Facebook Twitter Myspace Friendfeed Technorati Digg Google StumbleUpon Premium Responsive